Rolling my Eyes

I have been in quite a bit pain the past few days (the cold definitely does not help!) but managed to get to the local corner shop today. Even that short trip was quite painful but it was worth it as on the magazine rack was the March 15 issue of Elle Magazine (UK) and free with that addition was the ‘Global Exclusive’ of Benefit’s new mascara Roller Lash. I love Benefit’s products so was super excited – it’s always fun trying something new.

At this point I think I might explain one of the few hurdles I have to wearing make-up. One of my chronic conditions is Sjogren’s syndrome, it is probably not as widely known as the others I have (only one person I have met has ever heard of it before I had it). It’s an auto-immune condition that attacks the body’s ability to provide moisture to parts of the body, e.g. saliva and tears. It is tear production that affects me the most in that I have zero tear production – I have no tears. When I cry I look ridiculous, I make all the sounds and go through all the motions except that I can’t shed one single tear. Whilst the no tears crying is bizarre lack of water in the eyes is incredibly irritating, makes my eyes vulnerable to infection and incredibly sore. This makes my eyes really sensitive. So far I have only managed to find two make-up brand’s mascara’s that I can use without irritation, one is BareMinerals and the other is Benefit.

I’ve had a quick try of the Roller Lash but I haven’t worn it all day yet. It seems to focus on curling the lashes, according to the description on the box, and it certainly does! There would be no need for eyelash curlers when using this mascara. It managed to curl my lashes up high enough for my lashes to touch my eyebrow when my eyes were open. The curl on the lashes when using this product is amazing but unfortunately it does little to thicken them. I have problems with the volume in my lashes as due to the irritation I rub my eye lots and with they’ve been thinner since the conditions started (could be coincidence?) so this wouldn’t address that problem of mine. The Roller Lash is also not waterproof which means I can’t use my eye-drops when wearing it, I should be using them at least four times a day…but it’s just so inconvenient that I often fall short of that target. However, there is certainly no denying that the mascara curls like a ‘good’n’ (sorry, English vernacular – ‘good one’)!

long cloud 010

6 thoughts on “Rolling my Eyes

  1. medwards1714 says:

    Wow ive never heard of that condition before. Thats got to be hard. Im sorry you have to deal with stuff like that. Just know you have a friend now who can talk if your ever feeling down! Stay strong! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • lore green says:

      Thanks. You’re always so lovely. In comparison to the other conditions the Sjogren’s is the least bothersome (for me that is – other people suffer worse by that condition than I do). x

      Like

      • medwards1714 says:

        I can’t imagine. So how old are you? I read your about me page but it didn’t say how old you are. I really like reading your post. To see how strong you are even with health issues is incredible! 🙂 can’t wait to read more!

        Like

  2. lore green says:

    Thanks again for your lovely words. I am 32. I find it’s weird mentioning my age as I feel in some ways that I’m way older than that and in another sense I still feel 21 which was when my life sort of grounded to a halt either way I don’t see myself as the number 32. Take care x

    Like

  3. Arielle says:

    I love your blog, your posts are beautiful! I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other 🙂 I am so glad I got to discover you ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

